Skip to content

Fire

12/04/2011

I was in the kitchen with Luke earlier, making nikuman for the first time in a while. The last time I made them, they weren’t that great which marred my confidence significantly. In any case, I discovered that if you do turn them over inside the steamer, they cook better (while this is true of most things, you aren’t actually supposed to turn nikuman over while they’re steaming).

Now, I don’t actually own a steamer; I made my own from a colander, a pan and a tea-towel. While steaming the nikuman, I usually use the largest ring on the hob because I’m under the impression that it is the fastest at doing the job; however, the downside of this is that sometimes, the flames (we have a gas cooker) can singe the tea-towel which isn’t quite the right size for the pan, even when folded.

Today, the tea-towel actually caught fire. Only ever so slightly, so it wasn’t a problem: we just poured some water over it and it was fine. At this point, I decided it would probably be a good idea to turn the nikuman over inside the steamer. I don’t know why this struck me as something that I ought to do, it wasn’t a good idea at all.

I don’t really know how this happened, maybe the flames really were leaping high against the pan, but when I went to do this, my sleeve caught fire.

Luckily, it didn’t leave a Β mark. I think I’ll be using one of the smaller rings from now on.

From → Personal

15 Comments
  1. Sentimental Asylum permalink

    You’re sleeve caught on FIRE!?! THAT’S SO SCARY. Makes me think of that one scene in Mrs Doubtfire. XD

    • Ah, I don’t really remember Mrs Doubtfire that much, I only saw it a few times. It was really scary ahah!

  2. Just so you know, I am a worrywart and some of your posts worry me like this one and the one where you are walking alone at night. Your fire story reminds me of my 18 year old son who just moved into his first place. We have always had a gas stove. When he was cooking his first meal, he could not figure out how to get the flame on and kept turning the electric stove on and off – he finally texted a friend to figure out how it works.

    I’m going to call him today and tell him not to steam nikuman using a dish towel. πŸ™‚

    Also, I didn’t realize some of your drawings were done on the computer; did I read that right in the Hare post?
    What program do you use?

    • I think that you probably ought to tell him, it’s very dangerous! I was lucky to have escaped unscathed! I guess it is rather worrying; I should probably be more careful ahah :> They’re all done on the computer bar the ones that are under ‘art’ and are obviously painted. I just use MS Paint, I like how it’s really basic so while your pictures aren’t exactly ‘well drawn’, they have a sort of rubbishy charm to them. At least, that’s how I feel :> If you ever wanted to get serious, Photoshop is actually a really good drawing/colouring tool. I hope that answered your question D: Thanks for reading~!

  3. Yikes! You’ve got me worried again, too. I’m glad you weren’t harmed. And I hope you were able to salvage some of the nikuman.

    • I’m glad I wasn’t harmed, too! I waited a few minutes before I continued cooking them because I was a bit freaked out and I thought that it could happen again (I don’t know why) but once done, they were actually very satisfying πŸ˜€

  4. This is SO funny (only because you aren’t hurt)
    I set fire to a tea towel in a hostel once… the whole thing went up and set off all the fire alarms. Gas cookers can be dangerous!

    • Ahahahahahahah! That must have been so scary! Were the people at the hostel not a bit freaked out, like, what is this crazy girl doing? They are truly terrifying!

  5. Your drawings are sick! I’m really enjoying them πŸ˜€

  6. Ladies and Gentlemen: The Human Torch! πŸ˜‰

  7. This maneuver you had illustrated in your comic up there, the one you called “movement”, you have to teach me that someday in case I set my sleeve on fire.

    • Ahahah I will, although I think the ‘stop drop and roll’ technique would be more trustworthy :D.

Leave a Reply

