Skip to content

The Traumatic Header

12/05/2011

As you may have noticed, I’ve made a header for the first time and put it on my blog. I wasn’t going to write about it, I was just going to let it sit there looking all lovely and not say a word; however, after all the time (and effort) I spent resizing it, not to mention the fact that the size that it is required to be is  just ridiculous, I think I owe it to myself to make a post about it.

Firstly, this was not at all how it was supposed to look; this is how it was supposed to look:

Sadly, the image size of the above image is 3784 x1408 Pixels, where the required size for the  header is 960 x 180. This was a problem. When I resized it, because I use  MS Paint and it obviously isn’t anything close to vector graphics, this is what happens:

You may think that doesn’t look too bad. I dare you to click it and see it in full size, especially compared with the original.

The main obstacle (at first) was the Christmas tree which skewed the whole thing out of proportion because of its height compared to the other articles. I was forced to zoom out of the picture and print screen it so that it would be smaller when I pasted it (I had no other option as the resize tool is terrible on Paint) until it fit the size requirements.

I should add that another annoying feature of MS Paint is that you can’t control how much you zoom in or out, it has to be either 25%, 50%, 100%, 200%, 300%, you get the idea.

At least now you all know how it was supposed to look! Merry Christmas!

From → Personal

18 Comments
  1. Lol! I know what a bug this can be! Bug kudos to you for making such an awesome header in paint! Fantastic work and I can’t wait to see more!

    • Ahah thank you :> I’m glad you like it; it makes all the frustration I went through worthwhile!

  2. Great header and I admired your talent in accomplishing this feat.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Just signed up for yours.

  3. eldinsmille permalink

    Funny!
    But good drawing!

  4. Oh, I think it turned out lovely!

  5. I love how much you struggle for your art;). It’s maddening how long these seemingly simple things, like headers, can take. But it’s so you. I love it.

    • Thank you :> I think the more you work or struggle over things, the better you feel afterwards (if you succeed, ahaha. Well, even if you don’t succeed, it’s great to know that you tried). I felt a bit audacious making a post about how much effort it took, but it’s weird how something that looks so easy really isn’t! I guess that’s true of a lot of things 😀

  6. I think the header looks great. And I love the original picture.

    • Thank you 😀 I feel so much better about it after hearing your (and everyone else’s) kind words.

  7. I love your header. You inspired me to add some holiday cheer to my blog. Also, I passed this award along to you http://worrywarts-guide-to-weight-sex-and-marriage.com/2011/12/06/sharing-the-love/ . It’s sort of a silly thing, but it’s nice to be recognized. I listed your blog at the end because I really want people to click on your link.

  8. I love it! Your work is very cool and reminds me of the awesomeness of those days long ago – using MS Paint. You may want to try Paint.NET (free image editing software) sometime.

    • Ah, I have tried Paint.net but I didn’t really find it appeasing. I also prefer Paint’s charm in it’s crappyness ahah :> Thanks for stopping by~

Leave a Reply

